To The Half and Beyond.

Before I officially begin this post, I need to make a disclaimer: I’ve never written a blog before. And I’m not very good at talking about myself, nor keeping others entertained. I entertain myself very well though. Lexi has written a lovely blog before (chocoletmedown.wordpress.com). Perhaps she’ll guide me in the way of entertaining our followers…

That being said, I am ecstatic to share our progression from mediocre runners to half-marathon champs. We’re already on week 2 of our training, but I’ll catch you up on progress thus far.

October 2nd: Our first run together to organize and plan our adventure. 3 slow miles, as we’d never really run together. My enthusiasm may have been too much for Lexi…oops. I was ready to whoop some half-marathon ass! The more we were talking, the more we realized we didn’t have to stop at a half-marathon. In fact, we had exactly one year to train for the Portland Marathon. Not a bad idea. Not a bad idea at all.

October 5th: The fabulous Kate from the Portland Running Company kindly spent 2 hours with Lexi and I as we tried on over a dozen pairs of shoes. A giant thank you to them for analyzing our gait and putting us into some awesome shoes! With each pair we tried on, we did a lap around the block. I feel like I got a full workout in. -I went with the Mizuno Wave Elixir and Lexi chose another pair of Mizuno’s as well. Here’s us attempting a Vanna White to show off our new kicks:

October 8th: 10-week training has officially begun. Lexi and I unfortunately will not be running or cross-training together as much as we had anticipated. She was a badass big sister and watched her two younger siblings all this week. Her cross-training included two hours of tag and lifting children up to the sink to wash their hands…sigh. Biggest form of birth control either of us can imagine.

October 9th: Fasted 5k and new PR for me! With an average pace of 9:14/mile, I finished 3.1 miles in just under 28 minutes. It was a steady pace, and came as a surprise as my Nike Running app told me my pace and time with each mile. My tunes tonight included Lindsey Sterling, Alex Clare and some various obnoxious dubstep with >160BPM.

October 11th: Sub-50 5 mile! I can’t remember the last time I ran more than a 5k at one time. Prior to this half-marathon undertaking, I only ran to clear my head. It is a brilliant form of catharsis and a lot cheaper than therapy. Mile four tonight brought on a case of the dry heaves….Worst. Feeling. Ever. I don’t wish them upon anyone. But, I kept going. I had 5 miles to accomplish.

October 13th: 1st Annual Detroit Lake Mud Run! 6 miles in the mud. Every runner’s dream…right? The scenery was amazing. The low-lying fog, the water like glass to reflect the trees… 9 AM comes early to those of us who had to drive 2 hours to get there. We had a blast. Only muddy up to our knees though, disappointingly enough. I don’t know about Lexi, but I was anticipating being covered.

 

Here’s our cupcake finish: (perhaps too much enthusiasm?)

 

October 15th: Another PR accomplished. Fastest mile time: 8:14. And that was for my warm-up mile! Did I mention it was pouring rain the whole time? Oh, PNW, you make goals a challenge sometimes…

Leave a Reply

