Drop It Like It’s Hot.

To the bird I encountered on my run last Thursday:

Thank you. Though I did not know it at the time, your splatter of poop upon my head was, in fact, good luck. In that same week, I aced a Biology exam and ran my fastest 5k (more on that in a moment). Perhaps this new PR was due in part to the actual fecal matter on my head, and the urgency in which I wanted to remove it from its terribly inappropriate location. As much as I hated you at that point and time, I am now able to laugh about it. Again, thank you.

It’s been over a week since I’ve written, and it’s about time I pick up the frequency here. Lexi, help me out!

Two quotes running through my head this week:

In doing anything, the first step is the most difficult.

You can do anything but not everything.

I enjoy running, but every day feels like my first day; trying to convince myself to put on the running shoes and get outside!

I’ve a lot on my plate. I work full time in a dental office, I go to school full time in the evenings, try to have some semblance of a social life, take care of my 4-legged child and now I’m training for the half (7 1/2 weeks!). It makes me tired just thinking about it. Adding this training to my routine has been a little overwhelming. My biggest fix? Lists. Sticky notes. Writing on my hand. I have to make lists of things to accomplish during my day. In trying to accomplish so much, I’ve had to realize something: It is perfectly okay to not complete everything on that list.

No complaints on my end. That’s not what this is about. It’s about finding balance. 28 hours in the day would be preferable because, my idea of balance = A pound of lemon garlic brussel sprouts for dinner and a dark chocolate bar for dessert. A bird pooping on my head but going on to run my fastest 5k ever.

Progress.

In just one week, I’ve shaved just over a minute off my 5k time. My running shoes are breaking in nicely, and I still get excited every time I put them on.

My long run this week was marked with the beginnings of pain in my left shin…Ibuprofen and ice. That is all I have to say.

The rain has begun, and that has made running outside a little more challenging. I’ve finally acquired a waterproof jacket, and will soon purchase waterproof headphones. (more on this later)

Bootcamp cross-training is challenging. I cannot do a set of chair dips for the life of me. I think I was probably just born without triceps.

This weekend is a 7 mile run! This will honestly be the longest run I’ve ever been on.

Will I get  a cupcake at the end?

Leave a Reply

