Home is Wherever I Am

Ugh. I’m back.  Isn’t that just the feeling one gets after being on vacation?  One of these days I’ll have to plan a trip to a warmer climate! Who visits Boston during the winter, post hurricane and nor’easter?! Oh shucks!  That would be me.  In my defense, I got a killer deal on airfare!533949_10151169724838601_106503129_nSilliness aside, I hit a wall.  I found myself at that six to seven month mark of not living in Bean-town anymore.  I missed it!  The saying “you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone” is true.  After being back in Boston for a couple days, I realized that most of the reasons for my leaving didn’t apply anymore.  I had such a positive time there that I’m wondering if  I want to move back?

Sorry folks, I’m incredibly fickle!   Perhaps I just find it hard to say goodbye to the home I created for myself.  There is something very powerful about starting a life where no one knows your name yet. Everything I have in Boston, I earned.  The difficult thing about moving back to live in your hometown (Portland, OR) after that kind of experience is that they don’t know you anymore.  Worse. People tend to not separate the person you are now and the bambi you used to be. Frustrating!

But for now, lets recap- I, Lexi Zenner, have just had the most amazing 9 days in Boston, MA.  I spent time with old pals, made new friends, ate Buffalo Everything, LOBSTAH, and of course- ran.  I went on three runs that is. Oopsie!

Granted I was on vacation and do keep in mind that Boston is a walking city.  I walked a lot.  Heck, I danced a lot!  I have faith that walking in heels over cobblestone must do some wonders for the core. Right?

My first run was on day two- I ran from a Brighton residence over to Boston College for a few loop-d-loops, equating to about 5.1 miles.  Not too shabby.  Here are some pics of that run (me saying hello to my Jesuit pals):

photo (7)

photo (8)

photo (6)

My Second run was a sad 3.1 miles because it was cold. Portland people, you don’t know this kind of cold!  The tricky part is that it creeps up on you after the run.  Once inside, I’ll be taking deep painful breaths into my dry/hoarse throat.  Not cool.

So yes, it was DAMN cold and I wanted to cuddle up to the space heater and watch episodes of  Its Always Sunny in Philadelphia; which I did.  I also thought good and hard about creating my own version of CharDeeMacDennis. I’m doing this!

For the third, I ran from the Boston side of the Charles river to Cambridge and back to Boston.  Epic! Beautiful. Epic! Here’s a rough pic of the route: about 11-ish miles! SHAZAM!

 

photo (5)photo (4)photo (3)photo (2)photo

I have always wanted to do this run!  When I lived here I would walk this route fairly often.  It’s the absolute most beautiful walk! This is probably my favorite place.  If you live in Boston or don’t, someday go walk or run the Charles river in Boston.  You wont regret it!

Here are some photos from my run along the Charles river in Boston, MA! So Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

